Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Sign In   |   Register
National Surveyors' Week
Share |

National Surveyors' Week - March 20-26, 2011

 

 Arkansas and the US will commemorate Surveyors Week from March 20-26, 2011. What have you planned to let your neighbors or local business community know about this special week?

The National Society of Professional Surveyors (NSPS) has developed a program called Surveying USA to commemorate National Surveyors Week.

Surveying USA will be a one-day simultaneous nationwide GPS observance of as many monuments as people can populate. Land surveyors are encouraged to take part, as well as non-surveyors utilizing hand-held GPS units. Early plans are for all states to be up and observing Saturday, March 19, 2011 at 11 a.m. Here's more info on the program from Debi Anderson, NSPS Governor - Montana:

1) All states should be set up and start observing Saturday, March 19, 2011 at 11 a.m. Montana Time
2) Occupy ANY point you want or set one yourself.  Remember, this is mostly for recognition of NSPS and Land Surveyors.  It can be your states initial point, a historical monument, a flag pole in a school yard... etc. etc. etc.  If you are observing a point for NGS or Height Modernization there will be specific directions forthcoming.
3) Occupy for a minimum of 1/2 hour (more is always better if you want to be noticed)
4) After your time is up send Lat/Longs (in degrees, minutes, seconds) along with description of point occupied and name of person observing to your state coordinator (or governor or me)

Again, if you are observing points for Height Mod or something like that the requirements will be different.  Mostly, HAVE FUN and tell people who you are and that you are doing this nationwide in recognition of NSPS, National Surveyor's Week, and surveyors.

11 a.m. (Montana Time, MDT) Saturday, March 19, 2011
Point Description
Observer
Lat/Longs

Daylight Saving Time begins at 2 a.m. on March 13
10am PDT = 11am MDT = Noon CDT = 1pm EDT = 5pm GMT

Thanks everyone... this is going to be great and I continue to get calls and emails of people who want to participate.

For more information contact our state coordinator, Steve Corley at steve.c.corley@usace.army.mil or 501-324-5710.

 

Community Search
Sign In
Sign In securely
Calendar